School Choice

Public School Choice Announcement

This is a public announcement. Public school choice in Arkansas allows students to
attend a public school in a district other than the one in which they reside. Parents of
students residing in school districts of the following counties: Cleburne, Conway,
Faulkner, Perry, Pope, Van Buren and Yell who want to enroll their children in a public
school located within that county have until May 1 to apply to enroll in the fall under
the Arkansas Public School Choice Act.

Pursuant to standards adopted by a non-resident school board a non-resident district
may reserve the right to accept or reject applicants based on capacity of programs, class,
grade level, or school building. Likewise, a non-resident district’s standards may provide
for the rejection of an applicant based upon the submission of false or misleading
information to the above listed request for information when that information directly
impacts the legal qualifications of an applicant to transfer pursuant to the School Choice
Act. However, a non-resident district’s standards shall not include an applicant’s
previous academic achievement, athletic, or other extra-curricular ability, handicapping
conditions, English proficiency level or previous disciplinary proceedings, except that an
expulsion from another district may be included under. §6-18-510. Priority will be given
to applicants with siblings attending the district. The non-resident district shall accept
credits towards graduation that were awarded by another district and award a diploma
to a non-resident applicant if the credits towards graduation that were awarded by
another district and award a diploma to a non-resident applicant if the applicant meets
the non-resident district’s graduation requirements. Applications must be postmarked
or delivered to the Superintendent of Schools of the non-resident district no later than
May 1 for a child to be able to enroll for the fall semester, transfers shall be granted on a
non-discriminatory basis. Students who have been accepted and enrolled in previous
years do not have to reapply as approved transfers remain valid for as long as the
student attends that public school. The districts will have until July 1 to approve or
reject applications.

The following school districts comply with this public school announcement: Heber
Springs, Quitman, West Side Greer’s Ferry, Nemo Vista, Wonderview, Conway,
Greenbrier, Guy-Perkins, Mayflower, Mt. Vernon-Enola, Vilonia, East End, Perryville,
Atkins, Dover, Hector, Pottsville, Russellville, Clinton, Shirley, South Conway County,
Southside Bee Branch, Danville, Dardanelle, Two Rivers and Western Yell County.
Go to for more information on the Arkansas Public School
Choice Act.

Evan BeaversVHS, FA, VMS, FMIS, VES, VPS